School of Social Science

Name of School : School of Social Science
Name of the Dean : Prof. Lalneihzovi (Dean)

Office Phone : (0389)2331603
E-Mail: (Dean – email) / (Office – email)

About the school:

The School consists of the Six Post Graduate Departments namely- Psychology, Public Administration, Political Science, Social work, History & Ethnography and Sociology, one Undergraduate Department (Law Department), Mizoram University Women Study Centre, and Mizoram University Counseling Centre. There are 32 regular faculties under School of Social Sciences (Psychology-5; Public Administration-6, Political Science-7, Social Work-5, History & Ethnography-5, and Sociology-4). During this report period 13 Ph. Degrees, 10 M.Phil. Degree and 190 MA/MSW in the Schools were produced and four (4) faculty got promotion. Publication in Psychology – 4 faculty- 8 publications, Public Administration – 6 faculty-16 Publications, Political Science -5 faculty – 14 publications , Social Work – 2 faculty– 2 publications , History & Ethnography – 2 faculty – 3 publications, Sociology 2 faculty- 2 publications – The Deptt. of Political Science organized National Seminar on 23rd to 24th March, 2018 in the School during the year report.

During this period, times of School level regular meetings-School Board of Social Sciences was convened under the chairmanship of the Dean of SSS to frame under graduate, post graduate and M. Phil/ Ph. D. Courses for the six post graduate departments and the Law Department.
The first School Board Meeting was held on 4th July, 2003. The Dean office conducted Head‘s meeting six (6) times during the year 2017-2018 and the Board of under Graduate Studies in law meeting (Full Board) was held on 26th October, 2017.