Department of Geography and Resource Management

Department of Geography and Resource Management
Head: Prof. P.Rinawma

Year of Establishment : 2003
Year of First Intake of Student : 2004
Phone: +91‐9436155803
Fax: +91‐389‐2330834
Email : /mzut022

The department was established in 2003 under the name of Department of Geography, Tribal Culture and Resource Management under the leadership of invited renowned Professor, Prof. R.C. Sharma (Retd) from Jawahar Lal Nehru University. The charge was taken over by Prof. R.B. Singh (Retd.) from Banaras Hindu University till March 2004. After the appointment of regular faculty in March 2004, Dr. G. Kumar became the Head of Department, succeeded by Prof. P. Rinawma (2007-2010), Dr. Rintluanga Pachuau (2010-2013) and Prof. G. Kumar (2013- 2016) in the next terms. The department, Prof. Vishwambhar Prasad Sati is Head of the Department at the time of report. The department has eight faculty members and four non-teaching staff. With substantial resource, the department is striving toward academic excellence as well as improving departmental facilities and teaching aids. It can continues to undertakes all routine works of teaching, research, liaisoning between under graduate and post Graduate Departments of the university and other departments in the country. The department is actively engaged in developing its laboratories, GIS, Computer and Cartography. It offers specialized courses in regional planning and is intending to provide specialized courses in Remote Sensing, GIS and Computer Cartography in the near future.
The department is running Master of Science in Geography with intake capacity of 30 students and Ph.D. course where currently 26 students are being conducted in the department. It has organized two national seminars, one international conference and one national workshop under the year of report.

Position of Teaching Faculty:

Prof. P. Rinawma, ProfessorDownload
Prof. V.P. Sati, ProfessorDownload
Prof. RintluangaPachuau, ProfessorDownload
Dr. Chegondi Udaya Bhaskara Rao, Associate ProfessorDownload
Dr. K.C. Lalmalsawmzauva, Assistant ProfessorDownload
Dr. Benjamin L. Saitluanga, Assistant ProfessorDownload
Dr. Naorem Bobby Singh, Assistant ProfessorDownload

Programmes under the department: PG, Mphil and PhD