Department of Chemistry

Department of Chemistry
Head: Prof. Diwakar Tiwari

Phone No. Department :
Residence : 9862323015
Email :

Year of Establishment : 2006
Year of First Intake of Student : 2006


The Department of Chemistry, Mizoram University was started in August 2006 with the aim of providing advanced Post Graduate (PG) and Ph.D. degree programs in Chemistry. The 12 batches of M.Sc. students passed out till now and 17 Ph.D. degrees are also awarded. The PG programs offers all the major specializations of chemistry viz., Physical, Inorganic, Organic and Analytical Chemistry. The courses are designed with Foundations Courses + Core Courses + Specialization Courses + Open Electives as per the guidelines of the Mizoram University Choice Based Credit System (CBCS). The open Elective Courses offered by the department are regarded as exciting and job oriented in nature by students of other departments who offered the courses. Recently department introduced the Post Graduate Diploma Program on Instrumental Techniques with an aim to develop the skill of Graduates. Department is supported by the DST-FIST at school level. The present intake of PG students is 30. Similarly, the Ph.D. program is offered in various disciplines of chemistry based on the research interests of existing faculties. Department has signed an MoU with the Catholic Kwandong University, Gangneung Korea to strengthen the Research Activities in the Department. Currently, all possible efforts are being made to develop this department as a state-of-the-art facility centre in chemical/physical sciences in the North-East region.

Prof. Diwakar Tiwari, Professor
Prof. Muthukumaran R, Professor
Dr. Zodinpuia Pachuau, Asst. Professor
E-mail :
Dr. N. Mohondas Singh, Asst. Professor
Dr. Ved Prakash Singh, Asst. Professor
Dr. Ayekpam Bimolini Devi, Asst. Professor


Programmes offered under the department: M.Sc., MPhil, PhD and PGDIT (Post Graduate Diploma in Instrumental Techniques)


Course structure and syllabus for M.Sc.
Course structure and syllabus for Mphil/PhD
Course structure and syllabus for Open Elective
Course structure and syllabus for PGDIT