National Service Scheme

Programme Coordinator :   Prof. P. Rinawma

Residential Phone No. : 0389-2325059
Mobile Phone No.         : 09436155803
E-mail                             : 


The Executive Council of Mizoram University in its meeting held on 19th December, 2011 has agreed to establish National Service Scheme Cell at Mizoram University vide its Resolution No. EC : 3(2) dt. 19th December 2011. Ti initiate establishment of NSS Cell, The University has appointed Prof. P. Rinawma, Department of Geography & Resource Management as Programme Coordinator.

The Mizoram University appointed Programme Coordinator is entrusted to settle the long pending decision of the State Level NSS Advisory Committee to fulfill for the improvement of the functioning of NSS in Mizoram state. The Programme Coordinator is also entrusted with the task of establishing linkages between Mizoram University and Government of India, Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. With the initiation of Programme Coordinator NSS Mizoram University and the recommendation of State Level NSS Advisory Committee meeting held on 18th April, 2012, Government of India, Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports National Service Scheme permitted to open NSS Programme Coordinator Cell in the Mizoram University vide No. F.No.5/19/NSS- NER/2012-13/301 dated 6th June 2012.

The Mizoram University NSS Cell started functioning in the proposed school of Earth Sciences and Natural Resources library room as there was no other suitable places to run the office. Right from the beginning it was a great challenge for the NSS Cell to start and function efficiently due to lack of infrastructure. The Mizoram University NSS Cell starts with Programme Coordinator Prof. P. Rinawma and LDC (Master Roll) Smt. K. Malsawmtluangi with the support of Dean’s SES&NRM staff Smt. Rosangzuali Pautu, Personal Assistant and Shri. Ngurnghinglova, Peon. Only form April 2013 one (1) Master Roll Peon Shri. Vanlalenga added the office staff. Besides, the Mizoram University NSS Unit started with six (6) units of 600 NSS volunteers. With the permission of respected Vice-Chancellor, the Programme Coordinator appointed six Programme Officers from Mizoram University faculty such as : i) Prof. Zaithanzauva Pachuau (Physics Deptt.) ii) Dr. R. Lalfakzuala (Botany Deptt.) iii) Dr. Cherrie L. Chhangte (English Deptt.) iv) Miss Lalropuii (Management Deptt.) v) Dr. John Zothanzama Sailo (Environmental Science Deptt.) vi) Ms. H. Elizabeth (Social Work Deptt.).


  • No. of NSS units – 25 colleges
  • No of NSS units – 87 units
  • No of NSS volunteers – 8700 volunteers 2013-2013
  • No of Programme Officers – 87