School of Humanities & Languages

Name of School : School of Humanities & Languages

Name of the Dean : Prof. Sarangdhar Baral

Mobile Phone No. :
Fax No. :  0389-2330834

Dean’s email : (official email)/ (personal email)
Office email :

Number of School Board Meetings held under year of report (Local / Full Board) : 02
Full Board : 01 (26th May, 2017)
Local Board : 01 (6th November, 2017)

Names of External Members in the School Board :

Names  University / Institute
Prof. K.C. Sahoo Department of Education, Visva Bharati University,
Shantiniketan, West Bengal – 731235.
Prof. N. Pradhan Principal, RIE (NCERT), Bhopal, Shyamala Hills, Bhopal –
462013, Madhya Pradesh.
Prof. GJV Prasad Center for English Studies, School of Language, Literature and
Culture Studies, JNU, New Delhi- 110067
Dr. H. Lallungmuana Rtd. Principal, Pachhunga University College, Salem Veng, Aizawl
Prof. Suresh Chandra Department of Hindi, Assam University, Silchar – 788011, Assam.

Brief Introduction about the School :

The School of Education & Humanities (SEH) came into existence in 2001 with the establishment of Mizoram University. This School so far consists of 4 academic P.G. departments, namely Education, English, Mizo and Hindi, and the lone U.G. department of Philosophy. Out of the four P. G. Departments, three were established before 2001 i.e. before the establishment of Mizoram University under the erstwhile Mizoram Campus of North Eastern Hill University (NEHU) at Aizawl. The years of establishment of the four P.G. Departments are as follow:

Department                Year of Establishment
Education                               1979
English                                    1979
Mizo                                         1997
Hindi                                       2010

All P.G. academic departments under the School are actively engaged in teaching (M.A. M.Phil. & Ph.D.), research and extension activities. Apart from these, Department of Education is offering a two year B.Ed. Programme of two units with recognition from NCTE since 2016.