About the School:
     The school was originated from the North Eastern Hill University (Mizoram Campus) as such some Departments like - Department of Psychology and Public administration were already established under NEHU which were carried over by Mizoram University (Central University)  in the year 2000 (under Parliament Act. 2000)   The School of Social Sciences came into being as an entity in the year 2002 through a notification issued by the Registrar, Mizoram University vide letter no.5/3/05-Adm II/60, Dt.22/6/002. The School consists of the Departments of Psychology (1983), Public Administration  (1985),  Social Work (2001), Political Science (2002), History and Ethnography (2004), and Sociology (2014) which are offering PG, M. Phil and Ph D Progrramme; and Department of Law at UG Level.
     The first School Board Meeting was held on 4th July, 2003, since then the School has organized School Board Meetings and BUGS in  Lawmeeting regularly at least two times regularly toframe, examine and approve the syllabi of various Departments as well as the Ph.D. synopses for registration to make recommendation for the final approval of the Academic Council.
The Heads of the Departments meeting has been conducted regularly to take up many important issues pertaining to the academic matters of the Departments, and also on any urgent matter arises which require immediate reaction for the smooth functioning of the University, and the decision taken were summited to the  School Board of Social Sciences for rectification for further approval. 
     The School of Social Sciences had organized Seminar/ workshop/ conferences/ Refresher course/ Short term course/ summer or winter school with maintaining national and internal standard. The School also publishes a bi-annual journal “Contemporary Social Scientist”. (UGC approved Journal) since 3rd March, 2011 which is multi-disciplinary of  wide coverage of social and cultural issues. There are 190 PG students, 46 M Phil students and 148 Ph D Students. There are 15 non-teaching staff and 33 teaching staff (as given below).