Department of Physics


Prof. R C Tiwari, Head of the department
Ph: 9862300514(M); 0389-2330522(O), 0389-2330435(Fax)
E-mail:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

     The Physics Department was the first to be started under the School of Physical Sciences in 2003 with Prof. D.K. Bhattacharjee as the first HoD, with Guest Lecturers. From the year 2007, the Department had its permanent Faculty and presently, there are 8 Faculty members including two Faculty on contract. At present, M.Sc. (Physics) program has specializations from the third semester in the fields of Electronics and Laser Spectroscopy. The Department also supports academically the B.Tech. (IT/ECE/CE/EE/Civil Engg.) Programmes, under the SET, Mizoram University. 
        So far, four (04) students have qualified for JRF/NET and one (01) student have qualified for SLET. Four semester CBCS pattern M.Sc. program is being conducted by the Department, with approved student strength of 30 and a good student-teacher ratio to enable personal attention to all students. The Department also provides Ph.D. program in the fields of Theoretical & Experimental Condensed Matter, Nuclear Physics, Radiation Physics, Solid State Electronics, Laser & Spectroscopy & Nanomaterials. The Department also conducts PhD Course Work as per the requirement of the UGC Regulations, 2009 for the research scholars. The Department has been actively taking part in the Orientation Courses/Refresher Courses conducted by the HRDC, Mizoram University time to time.
        The PG teaching activities of the Department was funded during 2007-2012 by DST through FIST-School Level. Most of the Faculty members have individual projects with funding agencies such as DST, CSIR, UGC, Ministry of Earth Sciences, Govt. of India, DAE(BRNS) etc, adding to the research profile of the Department. Two faculty members had filed 03 Patents. Recently, department has received financial assistance of Rs.160 lakhs under Departmental DST-FIST (Level-1) during 2018-2022.